Content Section

Remember me on this computer.


Call for papers, conferences, seminars.

Call for papers

ISA-RC16: Best Junior Theorist Paper in Sociological Theory Award

il 30-11-2011 dalle 00:00 alle 23:59
, September 20, 2011

Call for Nominations

Research Committee 16: Sociological Theory of the International Sociological Association

RC16 invites nominations for the Best Junior Theorist Paper in Sociological Theory Award, which will be awarded at the 2012 Mid-term conference of RC16, to be held in Trento, Italy, 28-29th June 2012. The award is granted to the best paper in sociological theory authored by one or more theorists  submitted to the competition.

It is intended to provide motivation and recognition to a promising young scholar in  the field of sociological theory, as well as to encourage growing graduate student interest and participation in the ISA and RC16.

The award consists of a certificate with a citation and the travel costs (up to a maximum of 0) of the winner(s) to attend the mid-term conference of RC16. The winner(s) will present his/her (or their) joint work during a special session of the mid-term conference of RC16.

In order to be eligible for the award, the candidate(s) must be younger than 35 years. The submitted paper must have been published or accepted for publication no more than three years prior to its nomination or submission. Papers can only be authored by one or more young theorists; those co-authored with tenured faculty  members at a degree granting institution are not eligible.

The paper can be in any of the three official  languages of the ISA (English, French, and Spanish), to a maximum length of 10,000 words. The winner(s) must be a member (or members) of both the IS and RC16 at the time of receiving the award, and attend the mid-term conference of RC16 to accept the award.

Nominations and self-nominations are both encouraged. Please send (or have arranged to  be sent) an electronic copy of the paper by November 30th, 2011 to rc16juniorprize@soc.unitn.it as well as to the members of the selection committee: Giampaolo Baiocchi (gianpaolo_baiocchi@brown.edu), Sang-Jin Han (hansjin@snu.ac.kr) and Giuseppe Sciortino (giuseppe.sciortino@unitn.it).

Keywords: theory, young scholar, sociology, award